Scrambled Eggs a la Julia Child

11 Oct

eggs and granola 017

After I saw Julie and Julia this summer, I decided I had to get Julia’s cookbook, which has been on my cookbooks-to-buy list for years.  I’ve also been watching her show, The French Chef, on DVD.  Such fun!  Julia Child took such pleasure in food, which is something I strive to do every day.  We all have to eat, so it might as well be good.  Why waste a meal on something that’s not really very good?  I finally got Julia’s cookbook because my mom sent me Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking, and so far I’ve made a few of the basic recipes.

eggs and granola 001

First on my list was scrambled eggs.  The book has a great chapter on eggs, and I haven’t been brave enough so far to try poaching an egg…I bet it indeed is harder than it looks.  Scrambling, on the other hand, is not hard, even when Julia Child does it.  It seems that Julia’s secret to scrambled eggs is all about cooking temperature.  Her recipe recommends a stove temperature of medium low, while I have been known to cook away at medium to medium high.  The result of the lower temperature is, yes, a bit longer cooking time, but also much creamier eggs with an almost velvety texture.  Wow!  The ingredients here are as simple as can be, the key is really the technique.  The amounts and ingredients I provide below are not exactly from the cookbook, but just about.

Ingredients (for one)

2 eggs, beaten with a bit of salt and some pepper, and 1 tsp of water (1/2 tsp per egg)

1/2 tablespoon butter

chopped fresh parsley

a splash of heavy cream

Instructions

First, beat the eggs with a pinch or two of salt and some pepper.

eggs and granola 002

Heat the butter in a skillet over medium low heat, until it’s melted and foams a bit.

eggs and granola 005

Then, add the eggs.  It won’t appear that the eggs are doing anything for a few minutes.  After 2 or 3 minutes, they will look about like this:

eggs and granola 008

At this point, start stirring every 30 seconds or so.  After a few more minutes:

eggs and granola 010

Here, they are done:  eggs and granola 011

The last step is to splash your eggs with a bit of heavy cream (not really necessary, but so decadent!).  Alternatively, you can give your eggs a bit of butter to finish.  Then, add about 1 or 2 tablespoons of chopped fresh parsley.  You can cook the eggs over higher heat to cook faster, but you won’t get the same silky texture!

2 Responses to “Scrambled Eggs a la Julia Child”

  1. Rachel @ boots in the oven October 12, 2009 at 4:56 pm #

    That looks lovely! I’ve heard that Julia’s books are a bit tricky if you’re not already fairly accomplished in the kitchen, but that recipe seems straightforward and tasty.

    So, what did you think of he movie?

    • artripp October 14, 2009 at 11:47 pm #

      I really enjoyed it! It’s one of those movies that makes me smile the entire time I watch it. It’s all about the joy that food can bring, and I can relate to that. Anyway, I think Julia’s books are a mixed bag. I certainly will not be making any of her calf brain recipes, but I like that her recipes are grouped into categories. So, you learn to cook different vegetables, for example, using basically the same technique but a few differences here and there. She provides ridiculously in-depth descriptions, which I admit try my patience a bit. But once I get what she’s saying, it’s fairly easy.

Leave a Reply

