Cappuccino: No espresso machine necessary!

14 Nov

This morning I had a lovely breakfast before heading out to the Sunset Valley Farmer’s Market.  My customary coffee turned into a cappuccino, and I had a lovely fruit/yogurt parfait using some of the granola I made a few weeks back.

It turns out that all you need to make a cappuccino complete with frothy goodness is a blender!  I got this great idea from my newest cookbook, The Urban Vegan by Dynise Balcavage.  I typically make my coffee in an Italian espresso pot, or caffettiera.  However, make your coffee with whatever contraption you wish.

Saturday Breakfast 007

While my coffee was brewing, I put about 3/4 cup of soy milk (you can use milk of any type for this purpose) in a glass liquid measuring cup and microwaved it for about 1.5 minutes.

Saturday Breakfast 010

Get out your blender.  Put the hot milk in the blender, and whirl for about 20 seconds or so.  The blender gets enough air into the milk to produce froth.

Saturday Breakfast 013

Check out my lovely holiday mug.  It’s a little crazy looking, but comes in handy for a cappuccino.

Saturday Breakfast 011

Mix the coffee and milk in the mug, and sprinkle with cinnamon.

Saturday Breakfast 016

Saturday Breakfast 019

To top off my cappuccino triumph, I made a breakfast parfait with a sliced organic Gala apple, organic whole milk yogurt from Straus Family Creamery, the very last of the granola I featured on the blog about a month ago, some dried cherries, a few chopped walnuts, and some honey.  Yum!  Great way to start a Saturday.

Saturday Breakfast 003

I think this set me up for a great farmer’s market experience.  I ended up with giant sweet potatoes, a large bunch of beautiful arugula, persimmons, a green bell pepper, and a bag of tangerines.  Yum!!  I’ll take some pictures of my loot and post them later.

One Response to “Cappuccino: No espresso machine necessary!”

  1. Rebecca November 20, 2009 at 1:53 am #

    your soup looks great and I adore the cappuccino

Leave a Reply

