Tangerine-Infused Cranberry Sauce

5 Dec

Part of the Thanksgiving feast I made for my boyfriend and myself was cranberry sauce.  I really don’t like canned cranberry sauce….I can’t get over the congealed, can-shaped “sauce” that emerges.  So, I make my own.  Fresh cranberries are everywhere this time of year, but they won’t last long.  I usually stop seeing them in Austin stores pretty soon after the New Year.

Orange and cranberry are a natural flavor match, so I added zest from a tangerine plus the juice of the tangerine to the cranberries.  The zest, juice, cranberries, water, and sugar are the only ingredients you need.

Ingredients

1-1 pound bag fresh cranberries

Zest and juice from one tangerine or orange

2/3 cup sugar

2 cups water

Preparation

Add the cranberries, water, sugar, zest, and juice to a medium sauce pan.

Turn on high and bring to a boil.  Immediately turn heat down to medium low, and simmer for about 30 minutes, stirring every 5-7 minutes.  You’ll know the cranberries are done when they pop.  Fun!  Once the sauce is done simmering, let sit for about 15 minutes to cool and to thicken.

Leave a Reply

