Banana-Date Scones

3 Jan

Scones are a love of mine.  They’re great with my morning coffee, and make a great afternoon snack.  Most scone recipes involve quite a lot of butter, but this recipe is an exception.  It comes from one of my favorite cookbooks, Veganomicon (page 224), and has very little oil in it.  I am not a vegan, but I do enjoy experimenting with vegan cooking.  Veganomicon has so many interesting and creative recipes, and has helped me expand my culinary horizons.

One of the things I also love about this recipe is that it gives me yet another way to use overripe bananas that never fail to make an appearance on my kitchen counter.  I buy bananas with the intention of eating them that way, but they always beat me to the punch and get too ripe.  Even a few spots make a banana unappealing to me.  I almost never waste them, though, and use them to make banana bread, muffins, scones, or pancakes.  I also love, love, LOVE dates and walnuts, and aromatic spices like cinnamon and nutmeg.  If you want a natural air freshener for your home, just bake something containing those spices.  I enjoy making a batch of scones and freezing them.  That way, I can pull them out one at a time and microwave them for breakfast.

I made some changes to the original recipe.  I used entirely white whole wheat flour, which you can usually substitute pretty well for white flour.  I also used soy milk instead of rice milk.  Other than that, I pretty closely followed the original recipe.

Ingredients

8 ounces of dates

1 T all-purpose flour

3-4 overripe, mashed bananas

2 T ground flax seed

1/3 cup soy milk or rice milk

1/3 cup canola oil

1/4 cup brown rice syrup (in a pinch, you could also use 1/4 cup sugar)

2 1/4 cups white whole wheat flour, or 1 cup white and 1 1/4 cups whole wheat pastry flour

2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Instructions

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.  Mash the bananas using a fork or a pastry blender.  Chop the dates (watch out for the pits), and mix in a small bowl with 1 T flour to prevent the dates from sticking together.

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flax seed with the soy or rice milk.  Then, add in the mashed banana, canola oil, and the brown rice syrup.   Set aside.  In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  Mix the flour mixture with the banana mixture.  Then, fold in the dates and walnuts.

Oil a 1/2 cup measuring cup.  Get out a large cookie sheet.  You can either spray or grease the cookie sheet to prevent sticking.  Scoop out dough using the measuring cup onto the cookie sheet, leaving around 3 inches between scones.

Bake the scones for about 30 minutes.  Because ovens differ, check on the scones after about 20 minutes.  They should be browned on the outside.

Leave a Reply

