Turkish Tomato Salad with Fresh Herbs

15 Jun

I made the following simple, lovely salad for a Turkish cuisine dinner party this past weekend.  The recipe comes from one of most favorite cookbooks, The Healthy Hedonist by Myra Kornfeld.  I love the cookbook so much I’ve written about several of the recipes on my blog.  The fun ingredient in this recipe is the pomegranate molasses (recipe says pomegranate “syrup” but I uses molasses–I’m not sure if there’s actually a difference.)

Ingredients

Dressing:

1/4 cup pomegranate molasses

2 T extra virgin olive oil

Salad:

2 pints cherry tomatoes (I uses multi-colored cherry tomatoes–great color!) small ones halved, larger ones quartered

2 cups thinly sliced scallions (actually, I only used one bunch of scallions, so it probably wasn’t the full amount)

1 cup chopped flat-leaf parsley

1 cup halved and pitted kalamata olives

1 seeded and minced jalapeno pepper

Salt

1 cup walnuts, toasted and coarsely chopped (I toasted mine in a dry skillet over medium heat)

Instructions

Combine the pomegranate molasses and olive oil in a small bowl, and whisk until blended.  Set aside.

In a large bowl, toss the tomatoes with the scallions, parley, olives, and jalapeno.  Sprinkle generously with salt.  Add the dressing and toss well.  Serve sprinkled with the walnuts.

Leave a Reply

