Raspberry Chocolate Spelt Scones

1 Nov

This post is dedicated to my good friend Amy.  These scones are my attempt to recreate a wonderful raspberry chocolate spelt scone we used to buy every Saturday at the farmers market.  The scones, along with strong cups of Katz coffee, was our Saturday morning breakfast.  After Amy moved away about three years ago, the bakery that made these great scones stopped coming to the market.  I’ve been thinking about those scones a lot lately, as I’ve been waxing nostalgic.  While the scones I made are not a precise replica, I have to say they come pretty darn close.  Breakfast this week of strong coffee paired with these scones will be good for my soul.

This recipe is adapted from Erin McKenna’s Raspberry Scones.  I added the chocolate, changed the sweetener, used coconut oil instead of canola, and added more liquid.  I also wrote the instructions in my own words.  I found the recipe on several different recipe sites and blogs, but here is one link:

http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/raspberry-scones

Ingredients

2 cups whole spelt flour

1 T baking powder

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/3 cup virgin coconut oil

1/3 cup barley malt syrup

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 -3/4 cup hot water (I increased this amount from the recipe–the dough was just too dry with the 1/4 cup the recipe called for)

2/3 cup grain-sweetened chocolate chips

1 cup frozen or fresh raspberries, thawed and drained if frozen (you can thaw them in the microwave, or if you think about it ahead of time you can thaw them in the refrigerator)

Preparation

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  Mix the dry ingredients together in a large bowl.  In a separate bowl, mix the oil, barley malt syrup, and vanilla together.  Add to the spelt flour mixture.  The mixture will be dry.  Add the water, and mix completely.  Fold in the raspberries and chocolate chips, being careful not to overmix.  Mix only until the raspberries and chocolate chips are evenly distributed throughout the batter.

Spoon out the batter onto the parchment paper-lined cookie sheet using about 1/3 cup of batter per scone.  Place about 1-1 1/2 inches apart.  All the scones should fit on one sheet.

Bake for about 20 minutes, or until the edges are golden brown.   Allow to cool about 15 minutes before serving.

4 Responses to “Raspberry Chocolate Spelt Scones”

  1. Southern Elle November 2, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    How is cooking with spelt? Is it very different to cooking with normal flour?

    • artripp November 2, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

      Hi! I made a 100 % spelt bread the same day I made the scones, and really the major difference is that your end result is denser than it would be if you had used white flour. I typically use whole wheat white flour in place of white flour, and sometimes combine this with other kinds of flour, like buckwheat. This was my first foray into spelt baking, and I’m a fan. The scones are definitely denser than they would be if I had used white flour, but I don’t think they’re too heavy. Good luck!

  2. raul December 11, 2010 at 2:04 am #

    guera me haces de estos scones??? nunca los he probado y pienso que me van a gustar muchisimoooo

    • artripp December 11, 2010 at 4:41 am #

      Si claro! Dime cuando nada mas…

Leave a Reply

